AGOA changes expected January 1, 2024

President Biden notified Congress he intends to terminate reduced duty benefits under the African Growth and Opportunity Act (AGOA) for four countries on January 1, 2024.

  1. the Central African Republic;
  2. the Gabonese Republic;
  3. Niger; and
  4. the Republic of Uganda

These countries no longer meet the eligibility requirements of Section 104 of AGOA.

The U.S. Trade Representative also announced that the President will reinstate AGOA benefits for Mauritania on January 1, 2024.

AGOA is currently authorized through September 30, 2025.

Questions may be directed to your Livingston Account Manager.