The Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA) Implementation

The Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA) will be in force on Thursday September 21, 2017. With the exception of a few agricultural goods, the CETA will essentially eliminate the customs duties on all imports from a European Union (EU) country or other CETA beneficiary, either immediately upon implementation of the agreement, or through a tariff phase-out.

Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) has posted and made available Customs Tariff 2017 –version T2017-5 Tariff Amendment effective September 21, 2017. This update includes the EU FTA version of the Customs Tariff.

The customs tariff is amended by adding CEUT “Canada-European Union Tariff”.

The European Union countries consist of 28 countries:
Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and United Kingdom.

Two Customs Notices have been published regarding the implementation of the CETA Free Trade Agreement.

  • Customs Notice 17-29 Proposed Regulatory Amendments and Proposed New Regulations Related to the Implementation of the Canada-European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA)
  • Customs Notice 17-30 Implementation of the Canada–European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA).

A statement from Global Affairs on the Canada-European Union Comprehensive Trade Agreement is available in Canada Gazette Vol.151, No. 37 September 16, 2017.

You can reach out to a Livingston representative if you require any assistance or have questions.