U.S. Ratifies USMCA

January 30, 2020 – On January 16, 2020, the U.S. Senate approved the U.S.-Mexico-Canada Agreement (USMCA), which will replace the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA).  The President signed the bill on January 29, 2020.

Mexico was the first to ratify the USMCA, on June 16, 2019, and then ratified changes on labor and environmental issues on December 12, 2019.

Canada is the only remaining country yet to ratify the agreement. Bill C-100 must be approved by the House of Commons. Please see our related Canadian Regulatory news article.  For Canada, the USMCA is referred to Canada-US-Mexico Free Trade Agreement (CUSMA).

The agreement was first signed on November 30, 2018 by the U.S. and Mexican Presidents and Canadian Prime Minister at the Group of 20 (G20) Summit.

The USMCA will enter into force 90 days after all three countries have ratified the trade agreement.   We anticipate the agreement to come into force before June 2020.

If you have any questions regarding the USMCA being ratified in the U.S., Livingston can help!  Please contact either your Livingston account manager or our regulatory affairs group at usregaffairs@livingstonintl.com