Consultations on a possible free trade agreement with the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)

Global Affairs Canada is seeking the views of interested Canadian stakeholders on the scope of potential negotiations toward a possible free trade agreement (FTA) with ASEAN.

The Government of Canada is committed to strengthening Canada’s economic ties with its Asia-Pacific partners, including the 10 member states of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)
The 10 member states are: Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam. Expanding and diversifying Canada’s trade with large, emerging markets such as ASEAN is a priority for the Government of Canada and contributes to Canada’s trade diversification strategy.

The submission period for the Canada Gazette in Part 1, Vol.152 September 1, 2018 notice is open for 45 days, and end on October 16, 2018. The Government of Canada is committed to hearing from Canadians on this important subject and will ensure that Canadians continue to have the opportunity to provide their views as we engage with ASEAN, including through our ongoing consultation efforts.

Details on the consultations and fact sheet on the individual country is available on Global Affairs webpage.
Submission can be sent by email or mail to the following:

Canada-ASEAN Trade Consultations
Trade Policy and Negotiations Division, Asia (TCA)
Global Affairs Canada
Lester B. Pearson Building
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0G2